Reviews

Press Reviews

Featured in: Sunset Magazine (2012), Travel+Leisure (2013), Tuja Wellness (2013), Eat Magazine (2014), Where.ca (2014)Frommer’s  (2015),  Sunset Magazine (2015),  Travel+Leisure (2016), and Fodor’s (2016). 

Guest Reviews

March 2017 – We have recently finished our second visit to Foxglove (our first visit was last summer so we have now seen the farm in full production and just coming out of dormancy). We have already booked another stay.

The hosts, Jeanne-Marie and Michael are warm and welcoming. The farm staff are likewise. No one is intrusive. (Indeed, in summer, no one could be because the work days are busy and long).

We have only ever stayed in the Log Cabin as the size suits the needs of our family, though that is not the only option on the farm. The lodgings are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The kitchen in the Log Cabin is well equipped.

The farm itself is a wonderful place. Guests are welcome to wander provided they avoid production areas – farm staff provide guidance on such matters. You can add a produce basket to your accommodation package and fresh-from-the-farm eggs, fruits and vegetables in season will be waiting for you in the refrigerator when you arrive. I highly recommend it. They also produce a delicious and more-ish apple-pear cider (the child-friendly kind) of which my children cannot seem to get enough. Jeanne-Marie has a wonderful stash of apple sauce made from transparency apples. Delicious. The farm blueberries are like nothing you have ever bought from a store. A treat to the taste buds. Better flavour than anything you will get when foraging in a super market, and indeed better than the ones I grow in my own yard.

The farm creatures are a delight. Megan is the tour dog…..literally. She will greet you soon after you arrive and then wait while you follow her around the farm, down the path past the gurgling stream and up to and beyond the back gate. She seems to adopt everyone who comes and stays. I took a small tent last summer hoping my boys might have a “camp out” one evening if there was a suitable place to pitch and it was permitted. Indeed it was, and there was a lovely spot on the grass beyond the cabin veranda . I was up sometime after midnight and looked out over the moonlit yard from an upstairs window. I was puzzled by a dark lump on the upper grassy terrace just beyond the tent. I knew there was no permanent object in that part of the yard. After staring for some moments, I realized it was Megan fulfilling the role of sentinel for the tent inhabitants.

You may also see Cheetah, the friendly and chatty burmese farm cat, from time to time.

The nights are dark and the farm is away from areas of light pollution so the view of the firmament is a treat for the city-dweller (as is the quiet). The resident rooster, whose dwelling is some distance away, will alert you to the arrival of new mornings and the song birds who dwell closer to the cabins punctuate any inner snooze button to remind you it’s time to get the coffee on so you might sit on the veranda and enjoy the morning light as it comes up over the farm.

On our first visit, we discovered books on farming in the Log Cabin. Upon closer scrutiny, I realized they were written by Michael. Intrigued but skeptical about whether a book on farming would hold my interest, I thought I at least owed one of them an effort. I found I was captivated. In addition to being a sustainable steward of the land he and Jeanne-Marie farm, Michael is both a gifted photographer and story teller. I couldn’t put the books down and read two of them in the days we stayed there over the summer!

Foxglove is a getaway that will re-energise you and, like us, you may find you leave it quite reluctantly. Novel, Vancouver, BC

September 2016 – A cute little cottage in a rustic and tranquil location. Very cozy and comfortable. Good for those looking to get away or go hiking. Robyn, Victoria, AUS

September 2016 – A great weekend! We were a bit unsure how we would last three days without TV, internet and cell reception. It was the best thing we did for ourselves. A relaxing spot. This is a beautiful property that really makes you understand and appreciate the work of these farmers. We were just excited to walk around the property and see the variety of fruit and vegetables that surrounds you. Renita, Nanaimo, BC

August 2016 – Loved spending time at the cottage! Perfect island getaway: far from our day today! Peaceful and picturesque setting, amazingly tasty produce and lovely people. Thanks for sharing this amazing place with us!!! Rachel, Vancouver, BC

July 2016 – What a special place! The farm property was fun for our family to explore, and our child loved the dog, cat, and chickens. The farmhouse is very clean and well appointed, and we were surprised how comfortably cool it stayed during the 32 degree August heat, in spite of no A/C. Jeanne Marie told us the thick log walls keep it cool in summer (and cozy in winter) – amazing. She was a lovely hostess and available to answer all our questions. Thank you, and we hope to return someday! Dawn, Seattle, WA

July 2016 – From start to finish, the Log House at Foxglove Farm met or exceeded our expectations. Spacious, clean, charming and well-appointed, we settled into three idyllic days on Salt Spring. Centrally located, this farmhouse is the perfect jumping-off point to explore the island. The kitchen had everything we needed to create delicious meals – we asked to purchase a basket of Foxglove Farm produce (do this – order the basket – eat your surroundings as you stay at the log house) and were delighted with the eggs, kale, lettuce, strawberries, peas, beets and carrots we found waiting for us when we arrived. The bedding and bedrooms were especially luxurious – I had some of the best sleeps of my adult life, snuggled under quilts between impossibly soft sheets. Not even the rooster could prevent us from sleep-ins (he’s quite a polite rooster, really. Not too early a start.) Jeanne-Marie and Michael were gracious hosts, asking after our comfort, anticipating our needs – maps of the farm and island, etc. We enjoyed chatting with the farm employees as well, who were friendly, happy and busy. Anyone wishing to discover Salt Spring, or visit it again, will be thrilled with this choice of accommodation. Katie

July 2016 – We had a beautiful relaxing week on the Farm. We could not have felt more at home and the fresh farm food was to die for. Thank you again for your hospitality. Sam, James, Ellie and the Princess Winnie

July 2016 – We loved our stay on our farm! We had high expectations for our stay based on the positive reviews we read online. We agree with the many other positive comments others left. Our eight-year-old city kid loved being so close to nature and our hike to the pristine nearby lake for swimming is a memory she will never forget. We loved the farm basket we ordered that was waiting in our fridge – the most delicious fruits, vegetables, and eggs we’ve ever had. The hosts and people working on the farm were very friendly and gave us suggestions. As for the accommodations, they were great. We particularly liked the nice modernized bathroom and extremely comfortable bed. Patrick

July 2016 – Exceptionally clean, cozy and rustic cabin. This is the place to go if you want to get disconnect. There are great walks around the farm and to a lovely lake nearby. We had a great time! Note, the Wifi and cell service is spotty. Not a problem for some of us but for those who do need to stay in contact with the mainland it could be an issue. Mai

June 2016 – We had the most wonderful and relaxing weekend at the farm cottage! It was a lovely and comfortable place, in a beautiful setting with ample privacy. Spotlessly clean with all the necessities. The vegetables and fruit and fresh eggs were amazing–best asparagus of my life. Great hiking around the farm and on up to Mt Maxwell. The other guests we met at the farm, and our hosts, were wonderful to chat with too. We hope to come back sometime! Sara

April 2016 – The farmhouse was very charming and the farm was the perfect location for an Easter break. We enjoyed delicious vegetables and eggs and quiet, relaxing evenings in front of the fire. The hosts were away at the time but we were looked after very well by Joshua. We really enjoyed being close to the trails on Mt. Maxwell – the view is quite something and well worth the exciting drive up the bumpy track! Phillipa

March 2016 – Foxglove Farm provided a much needed respite from the hectic life we live south of the border. Even though the farm was put to bed for the winter, it was obvious how much love and work has gone into creating this special retreat. We loved the quilts, the fireplace, the claw foot tub, and the feeling of being in a cozy grandmother’s house with no techie distractions. Megan the dog and Natasha provided a gracious welcome and warm presence during our stay. Anyone seeking replenishment of their soul need look no further. Rebecca & Jon